The Institution of Royal Engineers (InstRE)

The Organisation

Trustees and Members of Council

President Major General T R Urch CBE BEng MA CEng FICE FInstRE​
Vice Presidents    

Major General R R Davis CB CBE MInstRE


Brigadier N G Baveystock FInstRE


Brigadier M T G Bazeley BSc(H) MInstRE 

Comdt RSME

Brigadier S P W Boyd MBE FInstRE

Ex Officio

Brigadier J H Ridge MInstRE

Comd HQ 8 Engr Bde

Colonel D R Cockwell MBE MInstRE

ACOS FD, Plans & Trg Pol CRE (Geo) JFIG

Colonel D L D Bigger ADC MInstRE

Corps Col

Colonel P B Nicholson OBE MInstRE

Comd HQ 25 (CS) Engr Gp

Warrant Officer Class 1 S A Webster MInstRE

RE Comd SM
Elected Colonel A C Wood TD FInstRE  
  Major I M Cresswell MInstRE  
  Captain P D Coates MInstRE  

Colonel S P F Harris OBE FInstRE

Treasurer Major I Sidebottom Hon MInstRE​  
Secretary and
Chief Executive

Colonel N E Montagu MA CEng MIMechE MInstRE

(Member all Committees)
Corresponding Members Lieutenant Colonel J K Roberts MBE MInstRE, BLO 85053 Ingolstadt, Germany  
  Colonel R G Lewis MBE MInstRE, BLO USNORTHCOM, USA  

In addition to the Council, there are four standing committees which oversee the activities of the Institution. They are:

  • Members Services Committee (MSC)
  • Finance and Assurance Committee (F&A)
  • Professional Registration Committee (PRC)
  • Royal Engineers Museum Library Archive Committee (REMLAC)
Membership of these committees can be found in the Royal Engineers List
​All Committees meet twice a year. Details appear in the Supplement to the Royal Engineers Journal.